About Us

Center for New Americans welcomes and serves immigrants, refugees, and asylum-seekers.
Our Mission
Center for New Americans (CNA) is a community-based, non-profit adult education center that provides the under-served immigrant, refugee and migrant communities of Massachusetts' Pioneer Valley with education and resources to learn English, become involved community members and obtain tools necessary to maintain economic independence and stability.
Our Statement
Center for New Americans welcomes immigrants of all races, religions, and national origins. We believe that our community is made strong by a diversity of skills, cultures, and traditions.

Center for New Americans is an equal opportunity provider.
Meet Our Staff
CNA Staff 2020

Center for New Americans serves immigrants with a dedicated staff of teachers, advisors, program coordinators, legal service providers, administrative staff, and childcare providers. We are grateful for the loyal community of volunteers who amplify our effort.

Listen to our students, alumni, and clients in their words thanks to the  students who videotaped themselves,  our Volunteer, Sarah McKusick, who also videotaped students, and our Volunteer, Sarah Jarman, who edited and produced the video.

Our Board of Directors

Center for New Americans is fortunate to be led by an engaged group of volunteer board members who meet monthly, attend program events, and care deeply about the work of welcoming and serving immigrants.

Our board of directors includes the following members:

J Vaughn, Chair

Roger Webb, Treasurer

Anne-Marie Demetz, Clerk

Maria-Judith Rodriguez

Shardool Parmar

Staff Contacts
Peg RJ

ESOL Program Coordinator

Peg R. Johnson
PegRJ@cnam.org

Maureen

Citizenship & Immigration Program Coordinatorator

Maureen D. McMahon
citizen@cnam.org

Stephanie

Volunteer Program Coordinator

Stephanie Pasternak
volunteer@cnam.org

Linda

Distance Learning Program Coordinator

Linda R. Neas
linda@cnam.org

Peg T

Technology Coordinator

Peg Thibbitts
PegT@cnam.org

Rosa

Advisor - Amherst and Greenfield

Rosa Guerra, Advisor
Rosa@cnam.org

Sarah

Advisor - Northampton and Healthcare Jobs Training

Sarah Wing
sarah@cnam.org

Laurie

Executive Director

Laurie Millman
laurie@cnam.org

Tina, Citizenship Associate, with clients

Citizenship Associate

Tina Sanchez
Tina@cnam.org

Griselle

Finance & H.R. Manager

Griselle Rivera
Griselle@cnam.org